ERT wins top publishing award

The July issue of ERT, featuring our exclusive interview with Richer Sounds MD and founder Julian Richer, has been named as a winner in the most prestigious awards for independent publishing companies.

ERT won the ‘Front Cover of the Year – Business’ category in the Independent Publisher Awards 2015. The awards are organised by the Professional Publishers Association (PPA), the trade body for the magazine publishing industry in the UK.

The win comes after ERT was redesigned and relaunched in April and only weeks after the magazine celebrated its 125th anniversary.

“I’m so proud that ERT has won this award – it really validates all the hard work that has gone into the magazine since April,” said

ERT's PPA award winning July cover, featuring Richer Sounds founder Julian Richer
ERT’s PPA award winning July cover, featuring Richer Sounds founder Julian Richer

editor Sean Hannam. “Since we relaunched, the feedback from the industry has been fantastic, but to get an acknowledgment from our publishing peers is amazing.”

The cover featured Julian Richer in a rare – and exclusive – interview. It was designed by Taylist Media’s head of design Peter Davies and used a picture taken by freelance photographer Charlotte Gale.

“It was a real scoop to get Julian and it was great that he let us go along to one of his gigs and shoot him playing the drums. It was all worth it when we saw the finished cover,” Mr Hannam said.

Commenting on the win, Mr Richer said: “I’m hugely surprised that a picture of me would win a prize for anything, but I’m delighted for ERT and Charlotte, the photographer.”

ERT PPA Award 2015
ERT PPA Award 2015

The winners were announced at a ceremony in Central London on December 9.

Pictured top, left to right: Awards host and CEO of Shortlist Media, Mike Soutar; Taylist Media’s head of design, Peter Davies; ERT editor Sean Hannam and Gill Lambert, client services director at Dovetail Services, the sponsor of the  ‘Front Cover of the Year – Business’ category 

For more details on the awards, visit: